I25 – Synchronous

Coincidence? Fate? Psychic Projection?

Whatever happened, it works for me.

The Good:

Conversation starter? “I guess it’s ok, since I was hitting on a stripper all night!”

(This came out of my mouth, actually, and surprised the hell out of a buddy who came walking up just at that moment.)

I was preparing to go out to the karaoke bar one night and was just browsing Facebook when I came across a clip that was quite interesting to me. It was some kind of show that Oprah Winfrey had put on some years back and I had never seen it. In the video, there were famous singers like Gladys Knight, Mariah Carey, and Dionne Warwick attending the function. I was raised in the church and hearing all those beautiful voices singing gospel so heartfelt was just wonderful and uplifting.

So that got me to thinking about what I wanted to sing that night at the bar and I was lamenting the fact that I know so very few gospel songs. One of my favorite songs, however, from when I was small is “Oh Happy Day”. My favorite version of that song I heard in the movie Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit. The solo performed by Ryan Toby was just amazing.

Now I can’t sing like that, but I have a decent enough voice to at least sing that song in a simple way and I was able to find out that the bar has access to a karaoke version. So I decided to maybe try it.

Later at the bar, a bunny that I’ve never seen (or noticed, ha-ha) before gets up to do a song not long after my friends and I arrive. He’s an attractive young man and he apologizes for the song choice he has made. I’m rather curious as to what is going to happen as he has picked the song “Someone Like You” by Adele. Now this is one of my favorite newer songs and I just cannot imagine how that would sound if sung by a man.

I am astounded by his voice. He is more raw talent than skill, though he has more than enough of both to spare. He obviously has been singing for a long time. It is just freaking beautiful. On top of that, he is, of course, super-hot. (I didn’t call him a bunny for nothin’!) The man is very young and very outgoing. He is definitely not a shy person at all. He introduced himself to everyone at the bar and seemed very nice. He asks my friend and me if we are going up and my response is to show him our “stash” of music slips.

After I perform my first song for the night (“A Sunday Kind Of Love”, Etta James) he asks me if I will do a duet with him. I would love to; however, I don’t know the full version of the song he wants to do.

Interestingly enough, it is a song I have heard a small portion of (and loved!) in the movie SISTER ACT 2!!

Go figure that I had just been thinking about that movie.

The song is “His Eye is on the Sparrow” and it is performed by Tanya Blount and Lauryn Hill. Here is a clip from the actual movie:

So later, my friend and I are easily talked into looking up the full version of the song on her smartphone, and boy is the Bunny correct, the song is fantastic.

I can’t wait to download the full version and learn BOTH parts.

The Bad:

A girl requested that I sing a song and while she was very nice, I had all my songs picked out for the evening. The KJ and I compromised and he let me sing an extra song at the end of the night, (“Piece of My Heart”, Janis Joplin,) but my throat is still sore from screeching that out.

The Ugly:

A buddy that I do not know very well was way too drunk and very obviously angry and depressed. There is nothing I can do for him and that makes me sad.

Theme Songs

  • A Sunday Kind of Love – Etta James
  • His Eye is on the Sparrow – Lauryn Hill & Tanya Blount
  • Oh Happy Day – Sister Act 2

Look forward to my post all about NEW YEAR’S EVE!!

Leave a Reply

